The 2017 NAASF Board and Staff, pictured above (Missing:  Julie Kesterson)

NAASF is governed by a Board of Directors. Board members represent each of the 6 U.S. regions (West, North Central, South Central, Great Lakes, Northeast, and South East), and members represent the two Canadian regions (West and East).

Board Members, who are elected to rolling 3-year terms, have multiple responsibilities, including:

  • Serve on at least one subcommittee and participate in that committee's activities,
  • Attend NAASF Board meetings and events (typically, there are four board meetings each year),
  • Actively seek input from Franchisees in their respective regions by attending meetings, contacting them on a regular basis and soliciting input,
  • Represent the opinions of the Franchisees that are relevant to NAASF and the Subway® brand,
  • Provide input and direction to the NAASF staff on pertinent issues.


Les White, Chairman (South Central Region)

Nayanika Barker, Vice Chairperson (West Region)

T.J. Grewal (Canada-West Region)

Robert Harper, Treasurer (Canada - East Region)

Julie Kesterson (North Central Region)

Rajiv Kumar (Northeast Region)

Keith Lawhorn (West Region)

Joe Lukasik, (Great Lakes Region)

Jim Miller (Great Lakes Region)

Sheetal Patel (Northeast Region)

Pete Walley, Sergeant-at-Arms (Southeast Region)

Steve Workman, Secretary (South Central Region)

Illya Berecz, Executive Director (Northeast Region)